Home News About us Projects in Malawi Donate

© by Breuckmann-Stiftung, 2016 - 2019, Logo by Lisa Lorenz, Quarter to Seven


Home Donate Downloads & Links Contact Disclaimer

Contact

_________________


Breuckmann-Foundation

Alter Ortsweg 30

D 88709 Meersburg


Phone:   +49 (0)7532 9889

E-Mail:

kontakt@breuckmann-foundation.org

Donation account

_________________


Volksbank Überlingen




IBAN:

DE73 6906 1800 0006 3480 17

BIC:    GENODE61UBE


There is only one world to live in.


Support us, to conserve this world


Donate now Home

Datenschutz

Impressum

50 years ago 4 million people were living in Malawi, by 2017 the number had increased to 18.5 million, where the proportion of people under 24 years is now at 66 %. At the current population growth rate of estimated 3.3 %, up to 40 million people will live in Malawi in 2050.

Thus, Malawi is not only one of the poorest countries in the world, but with a birth rate of 41 children per 1000 people also one of the countries with the highest population growth in Africa, combined with a high infant and maternal mortality rate and an HIV infection rate of about 10% of adults.

The average marriage age of women is just above 18 years; almost 30 % of those under 20 are already mothers. Only around 32% of unmarried young women between 15 and 19 use modern contraceptives, and the figure for married women is clearly below 40 %. It is therefore not surprising that 72 % of sexually active women become pregnant, almost half of them did not want to become pregnant at all or only at a later date. (Plan International)


Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Malawi

Comparison if Indicators

Malawi

Germany

population in Mio. ( 2017 )

18,6

83,1

predicted population 2050

37,5

83,2

GNI per capita in US $

250

47650

anticipated average life time

62,5

81

birthrate per 1000 people

41

11

birthrate per woman

4,5

1,5

population growth rate

3,3

0

infant mortality per 1000 births

42

3,5

maternal death per 100.000 births

500

7

HIV infection rate

10

0,2

Consequences of Overpopulation

The consequences of the uncontrolled population growth in Malawi will be dramatic: the main source of income in Malawi is the production and sale of agricultural products. Population growth implies an increase of own needs for food and space - thus leading to a decrease of farming land for the production of export goods and consequently to the loss of the main source of income.

Official institutions already reach their limits of possibilities. For instance the recommended number of pupils of 60 per class is already exceeded by far – the actual number is 100 as an average over the whole country. Hospitals already lack of qualified medical personnel, in particular of doctors.

As the population growth has dramatic negative effects on humans and nature the limitation of it is of vital importance. Limitation of population growth would need far less resources than the handling of the implications of the uncontrolled population growth.

Home News Über uns Projekte in Malawi Spenden

© by Breuckmann-Stiftung, 2016 - 2018, Logo by Lisa Lorenz, Quarter to Seven


Home-E
Home Spenden Downloads & Links Datenschutz Kontakt Impressum

Folgen der Überbevölkerung

In Malawi lebten vor 50 Jahren 4 Millionen Menschen, im Jahre 2017 waren es bereits ca. 18,5 Millionen, wobei der Anteil der Menschen unter 24 Jahren heute bei ca. 66 % liegt. Bei der derzeitigen Bevölkerungswachstumsrate von schätzungsweise 3,3 % werden im Jahr 2050 bis zu 40 Millionen Menschen in Malawi leben.

Malawi ist somit nicht nur eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt, sondern mit einer Geburtenrate von 41 Kindern pro 1000 Personen auch eines der Länder mit dem höchsten Bevölkerungswachstum in Afrika, verbunden mit einer hohen Kinder- und Müttersterblichkeit sowie einer HIV-Infektionsrate von ca. 10 % der Erwachsenen.

Das durchschnittliche Heiratsalter der Frauen beträgt nur etwas mehr als 18 Jahre; fast 30 % der unter 20-jährigen sind bereits Mutter. Nur ca. 32 % der unverheirateten jungen Frauen zwischen 15  und 19 Jahren benutzen moderne Verhütungsmittel; und auch bei den verheirateten Frauen sind es deutlich weniger als 40 %. Somit ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass 72 % der sexuell aktiven Frauen schwanger wurden, wobei fast die Hälfte überhaupt nicht oder erst zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt schwanger werden wollten. (Plan International)

Malawi

Da alle Mitarbeiter der Breuckmann-Stiftung ehrenamtlich tätig sind, konnten wir in den vergangenen Jahren  mehr als 96 %  aller ausgegebenen Mittel für unsere Projekte einsetzen

Die Breuckmann-Stiftung ist gemein-nützig.

Spenden sind steuerlich absetzbar.


Jetzt Online spenden

Spendenkonto

_________________


Volksbank Überlingen


BLZ 69061800,  

Konto 6348017


IBAN:

DE73 6906 1800 0006 3480 17


BIC: GENODE61UBE

Kontakt

_________________


Breuckmann-Stiftung


Alter Ortsweg 30

D 88709 Meersburg


Telefon:   +49 (0)7532 9889

Fax:        +49 (0)7532 808482

E-Mail:

kontakt@breuckmann-stiftung.de

Kenndatenvergleich

Malawi

Deutschland

Einwohnerzahl in Mio. ( 2017 )

18,6

83,1

prognostizierte Bevölkerung 2050

37,5

83,2

pro Kopf Einkommen in US $

250

47650

Lebenserwartung in Jahren

62,5

81

Geburten pro 1000 Einwohner

41

11

Geburten pro Frau

4,5

1,5

Bevölkerungswachstumsrate

3,3

0

Kindersterblichkeit

pro 1000 Geburten

42

3,5

HIV-Infektionsrate in %

10

0,2


Malawi lebt heute vor allem vom Verkauf landwirtschaftlicher Produkte. Mit zunehmender Bevölkerung steigt zum einen der Eigenverbrauch, zum anderen muss immer mehr landwirtschaftliche Fläche als Lebensraum für die zunehmende Bevölkerung zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Beide Faktoren führen dazu, dass das ohnehin bitterarme Land seine wichtigste Einnahmequelle verliert. Zudem steigen der Ressourcenverbrauch und die damit verbundene Umweltbelastung.

Öffentliche Einrichtungen stossen längst an ihre Grenzen. So wird in den Schulen bereits heute die angestrebte Schülerzahl von 60 Schülern pro Lehrer bei weitem überschritten und liegt im Landesdurchschnitt bei über 100. In den meisten Krankenhäusern mangelt es heute schon an qualifiziertem medizinischen Personal, insbesondere an Ärzten.