Home News About us Our Projects Donate

© by Breuckmann Stiftung, 2016 - 2022, Logo by Lisa Lorenz, Quarter to Seven


Home Donate Downloads & Links Contact Disclaimer

Contact

_________________


Breuckmann Foundation

Alter Ortsweg 30

D 88709 Meersburg


Phone:   +49 (0)7532 9889

E-Mail:

kontakt@breuckmann-foundation.org

Donation account

_________________


Volksbank Überlingen




IBAN:

DE73 6906 1800 0006 3480 17

BIC:    GENODE61UBE


There is only one world to live in.


Support us, to conserve this world


Donate now Home

Datenschutz

Impressum

Actual Project Report: Youth Friendly Health Services

As already reported, we started another project in northern Malawi in July this year with the particular aim of ensuring an improved range of Youth Friendly Health Services in the area of Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights (SRHR) on a long-term and sustainable basis.  

Within the framework of the project, funded by the BMZ, a network of youth clubs is being established in which selected youth members of so-called peer groups are intensively trained. With the knowledge thus acquired, they serve as multipliers in their clubs, schools and communities on all SRHR issues. In this way, even young people should be able to make informed decisions in the area of SRHR. Adolescent girls and young women learn about their rights and can thus maintain control over their bodies.

The overall goal of this project is to reduce the number of unwanted pregnancies, especially among teenagers, and thus contribute to a reduction of the still very high population growth in Malawi.

During the first months of the project, theproject  team of our local partner Pamoza has already implemented important project activities:

At the beginning of the project, a meeting with representatives of different groups and organisations took place, in which especially the so-called District Executive Committees (DEC) of the project areas Karonga and Chipita participated. In addition, existing data on SRHR issues in the project area were updated, e.g. on knowledge and use of YFHS as well as on the current situation in different communities and organisations. Both activities serve to ensure acceptance of the project at all levels of society and to enable subsequent monitoring of its success.

Moreover an orientation workshop took place within the framework of a preparation camp, which was attended by young people from different schools and youth clubs, as well as teachers and representatives of health institutions. Once trained, the young people will be youth ambassadors for the project.

In addition, they have started to produce and distribute teaching materials such as posters and brochures. To sensitize not only the primary target group of young people but also a broader audience for the project and its goals one is organizing various information events and taking increased use of radio broadcasts and social media channels.



This project is supported by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation  and Development ( BMZ )

© by Pamoza

















In my community, there have been a lot of myths and misconceptions about sexual reproductive health, so with knowledge gained through Pamoza Tingakwaniska projects, I have come to know what is true about SRH and this will help me to live a better life and make right choices on sexuality issues.

Veronica Mwandira, Chairperson, Wenya Youth Club

Home News Über uns Unsere Projekte Spenden

© by Breuckmann Stiftung, 2016 - 2022, Logo by Lisa Lorenz, Quarter to Seven


Home-E
Home Spenden Downloads & Links Datenschutz Kontakt Impressum

Kontakt

_________________


Breuckmann Stiftung


Alter Ortsweg 30

D 88709 Meersburg


Telefon:   +49 (0)7532 9889

E-Mail:

kontakt@breuckmann-stiftung.de

Spendenkonto

_________________


Volksbank Überlingen


BLZ     69061800

Konto  6348017


IBAN:

DE73 6906 1800 0006 3480 17

BIC:    GENODE61UBE


Wir haben nur eine Welt, um zu leben.


Helfen Sie mit, diese zu bewahren !


jetzt spenden

Aktuelles zu unserem Projekt : Jugendfreundliche Gesundheitsdienste

Wie bereits berichtet, haben wir im Juli d.J. im Norden Malawis ein weiteres Projekt gestartet, mit dem wir insbesondere ein verbessertes Angebot an jugend-freundlichen Gesundheitsdiensten (Youth Friendly Health Services) im Bereich der Sexuellen und Reproduktiven Gesundheit und Rechte (SRHR) langfristig und nachhaltig sicherstellen wollen.  

Dazu wird im Rahmen dieses vom BMZ geförderten Projektes ein Netzwerk von Jugendclubs aufgebaut, in denen ausgewählte jugendliche Mitglieder der sogenannten peer-groups intensiv geschult werden. Mit dem so erlernten Wissen dienen sie in ihren Clubs, Schulen und Gemeinden als Multiplikator zu allen Fragen der SRHR. Auf diese Weise sollen bereits junge Menschen fundierte Entscheidungen im Bereich der Sexuellen und Reproduktiven Gesundheit treffen können. Heranwachsende Mädchen und junge Frauen lernen ihre Rechte kennen und können so die Kontrolle über ihren Körper behalten.

Das übergeordnete Ziel auch dieses Projektes ist es, die Zahl ungewollter Schwangerschaften, insbesondere von Teenagern, zu senken und so zu einer Reduzierung des immer noch sehr hohen Bevölkerungswachstums in Malawi beizutragen.

In den ersten Monaten des Projektes hat das Projektteam unseres lokalen Partners Pamoza bereits wichtige Projektaktivitäten umgesetzt:

Zu Beginn des Projektes fand ein Treffen mit Vertretern verschiedener Gruppen und Organisationen statt, an dem insbesondere die sogenannten District Executive Commitees (DEC) der Projektgebiete Karonga und Chipita teilnahmen. Außerdem wurden im Projektgebiet vorhandene Daten zu Fragen der SRHR aktualisiert, z.B. zu Kenntnis und Nutzung von YFHS sowie zur aktuellen Situation in unterschiedlichen Gemeinden und Organisationen. Beide Aktivitäten dienen dazu, die Akzeptanz des Projektes auf allen Ebenen der Gesellschaft sicherzustellen und eine spätere Erfolgskontrolle zu ermöglichen.

Sodann fand im Rahmen eines Vorbereitungscamps ein Orientierungsworkshop statt, an dem neben Jugendlichen aus unterschiedlichen Schulen und Jugendclubs auch Lehrer und Vertreter von Gesundheitseinrichtungen teilgenommen haben. Die Jugendlichen werden nach erfolgter Schulung Jugendbotschafter des Projektes sein.

Außerdem wurde damit begonnen, Unterrichtsmaterial wie Plakate und Broschüren herzustellen und zu verteilen, sowie durch unterschiedliche Informationsveranstaltungen, durch Radiosendungen und eine verstärkte Nutzung von Social-Media-Kanälen nicht nur die primäre Zielgruppe der Jugendlichen sondern auch eine breitere Öffentlichkeit für das Projekt und seine Ziele zu sensibilisieren.



© by Pamoza

















In my community, there have been a lot of myths and misconceptions about sexual reproductive health, so with knowledge gained through Pamoza Tingakwaniska projects, I have come to know what is true about SRH and this will help me to live a better life and make right choices on sexuality issues.

Veronica Mwandira, Chairperson, Wenya Youth Club